10 Year Anniversary Q&A | Peter Newsome

PETER NEWSOME_There is a Way 19 x 26 x 20cm. No 3 of a series of 3.  Price excluding commission

 

How long have you shown with The Cynthia Corbett Gallery?
I began showing my glass sculpture with Cynthia at her gallery home in 2003/4.

What inspired you to become an artist?
My glass sculpture is inspired by the interplay of light and form which I see in nature and which works its magic with glass. I use a combination of traditional skills and modern glass engineering techniques to create robust sculptures, using up to half a ton of glass in commissions for worldwide clients. My work is widely illustrated including a catalogue of a recent exhibition at Cambridge University, ISBN978-1-62050-591-5.

How did you meet Cynthia Corbett?
I met Cynthia in 2003 when she visited my exhibition at The Royal British Society of Sculptor’s Gallery in Kensington.

How has the gallery helped your career?
The gallery took my sculpture to major art fairs here and in the USA.

How has your work changed over the last 10 Years and how has the Gallery supported you?
My glass working skills have steadily increased and my sales though the gallery have supported my practice and enabled me to make better sculpture.

What’s your favourite exhibition you have taken part in with Cynthia Corbett Gallery?
Hard to chose between NY AAF and London Chelsea Fairs.

What’s your memorable experiences/ exhibitions/ or fairs?
Hearing Cynthia sing – an unexpected talent.

Describe Cynthia Corbett in three words!
Aesthete, Musical, Professional!

Who in the art world is your biggest inspiration?
I am mostly inspired by nature, also Naum Gabo & Constantin Brancusi

What are your plans for the future?
To make the finest sculpture that I am able.

What is your greatest achievement as an artist to date?
Election as a Fellow of the RBS “in recognition of outstanding reputation, experience
and talent” by a group of the country’s leading sculptors.

If you weren’t an artist what would you be?
A PhD biochemist; the career I gave up to become a sculptor.

 

Leave a Reply

