10 Year Anniversary Q&A | Tom Leighton

Chicago River, 2013, Edition of 5, Digital C-type print, Perspex/Aluminium mounted, 122 x 122 cm

Chicago River, 2013, Edition of 5, Digital C-type print, Perspex/Aluminium mounted, 122 x 122 cm

 

How long have you shown with The Cynthia Corbett Gallery & can you tell a little bit about your practice?
I have been showing with Cynthia since 2005

What inspired you to become an artist?
Family and education

How did you meet Cynthia Corbett?
I met Cynthia Corbett after having a solo exhibition in Pimlico, she started showing my work in my second year at the Royal College of Art.

How has the gallery helped your career?
The Cynthia Corbett Gallery has toured my work around Europe and the USA and this has opened up opportunities to travel and take photos for new works. The Gallery have supported my work by showcasing my work through 4 solo exhibitions, and showing my work at art fairs internationally. This has opened up many opportunities and commissions, as well as my work becoming part of many large collections around the world.

How has your work changed over the last 10 Years and how has the Gallery supported you?
My work has become much more complex in the way that i make it, i now have a very large bank of photographs to make work from, and I am always looking to travel to other countries to take more photos. The gallery have supported me in many ways, including securing commissions for me to travel and take photos to make specific works.

What’s your favorite exhibition you have taken part in with Cynthia Corbett Gallery?
My favorite exhibition was the Appropriation of Space show at Cork Street in 2009. The show then toured to Foundation Starke, Berlin. We travelled over and spent a week at the show.

What’s your memorable experiences/ exhibitions/ or fairs?
I really enjoyed being part of the show in Berlin with Cynthia, and most recently travelling to New York with Cynthia and Celia for my show Architectonic with Andrew Burgess in new York. I always enjoy seeing Cynthia sing Jazz at my exhibitions!

Describe Cynthia Corbett in three words!
Enthusiastic & Hard working

What are your plans for the future?
I will to continue to make to make work, and hope to continue to travel to new countries to take photos……..

What is your greatest achievement as an artist to date?
I was delighted to have a 5 star review in the Guardian for the ‘Appropriation of Space’ exhibition.

If you weren’t an artist what would you be?
I would try to be a musician.

Leave a Reply

