10 Year Anniversary Q&A | Nina Jun

NINA JUN. Constellation BG9, glazed ceramic, 15.5 x 14 x 8.5 in. 2014

NINA JUN. Constellation BG9, glazed ceramic, 15.5 x 14 x 8.5 in. 2014

 

How long have you shown with The Cynthia Corbett & can you tell a little bit about your practice?
I have shown with The Gallery since May last year. I am a sculptor and multimedia artist and in recent years, I have been making ceramic sculpture in the shapes of Mylar(c) balloons.

What inspired you to become an artist?
I have liked making things with hands since my childhood and I admired the works of Michelangelo and Rodin. I thought and still think that art can change the world.

How did you met Cynthia Corbett?
I was introduced to Cynthia by art historian Dr. Barbara Aust-Wegemund in Germany. I met Cynthia for the first time at Palm Springs Art Fair in February 2013. I was impressed by the Gallery’s works shown at the fair. She invited me to show at ArtMarket San Francisco in May, 2013.

How has the gallery helped your career?
Greatly. Before I met the gallery I was showing at local galleries and only at small art fairs. With the Gallery I am able to show my work more broadly at major international art fairs.

How has your work changed over the last 10 Years and how has the Gallery supported you?
Since I have joined the gallery, I have gain confidence in my current works. Thanks to the Gallery, the ceramic balloons, which I believe are the first of their kind, have been introduced to many major international art fairs. Working with the Gallery, I could refine my works.

What’s your favourite exhibition you have taken part in with Cynthia Corbett Gallery?
Art Fairs in East and West Coast in US.

What’s your memorable experiences/ exhibitions/ or fairs?
Attending the art fairs and helping out with the installations allowed me to travel and see the art first hand. It was also amazing to discover that Cynthia likes rice noodle soups.

Describe Cynthia Corbett in three words!
Passionate, fun, genuine

Who in the art world is your biggest inspiration?
As an art student, Van Gogh, who wished that with his paintings, every (poor) household would be able to have bright rooms. His dream has come true. As an artist, Jeff Koons, for his sculptures at multiple facets of media and its grandness in scale.

What are your plans for the future?
I will keep making ceramic balloons until they are accessible to more art lovers who are looking for a new form of art and interior architecture.

What is your greatest achievement as an artist to date?
With my installation art in 2012, I was able to help a non-profit organization whose goal is helping preventing domestic violence. Since then I have been continuously connected with this organization’s campaign. I am glad to experience that art can change the world.

If you weren’t an artist what would you be?
A writer (in Korean)

Leave a Reply

