10 Year Anniversary Q&A | Deborah Azzopardi

THE GREAT ESCAPE, 2014, Acrylic on Board, 119 x 94 cm © DEBORAH AZZOPARDI

THE GREAT ESCAPE, 2014, Acrylic on Board, 119 x 94 cm © DEBORAH AZZOPARDI

How long have you shown with The Cynthia Corbett & can you tell a little bit about your practice?
Cynthia has represented my Original paintings and Limited Editions for 5 years. My ideas are influenced by life around me but laughter is the BEST inspiration. I use acrylic paint and have developed a recognisable technique and style.

What inspired you to become an artist?
I really wanted to be an artist. I would have failed if I hadn’t even tried!

How did you meet Cynthia Corbett?
I watched Cynthia on the stand at all the art fairs I visited. She was always directing people to do this or that. She was totally relentless but her stand always looked stunning. I followed her gallery exhibitions and decided she had the energy and dedication that I wanted my own art to have. So I picked up the phone…

How has the gallery helped your career?
The gallery allows me the freedom to paint while they manage all my collectors and exhibitions/events.

How has your work changed over the last 10 Years and how has the Gallery supported you?
Each painting is different but the way I paint is a recognized style. Cynthia has an energetic disposition with an abundance of optimism. It’s like a cough – immediately catching!

What’s your favourite exhibition you have taken part in with Cynthia Corbett Gallery?
My solo show in Mayfair, London, earlier this year was the favourite.

What’s your memorable experiences/ exhibitions/ or fairs?
It was wonderful to see people that had collected my art more than 25 years ago, visit the Gallery earlier this year. We have all grown together, (with art in mind), and through art had shared the sense of fun. Playful and respectful at the same time.

Describe Cynthia Corbett in three words!
ABC – Ambitious, bold and with ‘Chutzpah’!

Who in the art world is your biggest inspiration?
I’m inspired by all forms of art but admire the works of Rene Gruau, Magritte & Toulouse Lautrec, equally.

What are your plans for the future?
To carry on and never stop!

What is your greatest achievement as an artist to date?
To be alive and doing what I really love to do.

If you weren’t an artist what would you be?
I’d try really hard to be an artist!

 

Leave a Reply

