10 Year Anniversary Q&A | Colin Wiggins

The Sorcerer Portrait of Sir Peter Blake, Colin Wiggins and Peter Blake, from the series Double Vision, 2002

The Sorcerer Portrait of Sir Peter Blake, Colin Wiggins and Peter Blake, from the series Double Vision, 2002

What inspired you to become an artist?
I had a wonderful teacher at primary school, Mr Cottrell. He was a Punch cartoonist and I completely loved him. He encouraged me to draw. And so I still do.

How long have you shown with The Cynthia Corbett & can you tell a little bit about your practice?
I showed in the early years of Cynthia’s Gallery but my practice is strictly part-time because I work as a curator.

How did you meet Cynthia Corbett?
She was a student at Christie’s education, where I used to teach classes.

Describe Cynthia Corbett in three words!
Shy. Quiet. Reserved.

Who in the art world is your biggest inspiration?
This week…Jacopo Pontormo

What are your plans for the future?
To get back to my practice as a printmaker, which has been severely limited by having a job as a curator. This is a few years away yet though as I have just started a project that will finish in 2016. After then, who knows?

What is your greatest achievement as an artist to date?
It must be ‘Double Vision’, the series of four portrait prints I made together with Frank Auerbach, R.B. Kitaj, Paula Rego and Sir Peter Blake. Impressions of the collaboration with Frank Auerbach are in the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge and the Los Angeles County Museum. The collaboration with Kitaj is in the British Museum. I can’t quite believe it!

If you weren’t an artist what would you be?
A bloody curator. Which I am!

 

Leave a Reply

