The Sunday Telegraph | My space: Deborah Azzopardi, pop artist

Artist Deborah Azzopardi shows us her home in north-west London

At home: Deborah Azzopardi Photo: Heathcliff O’Malley

At home: Deborah Azzopardi Photo: Heathcliff O’Malley

I have lived in north-west London all my life. I grew up around the corner and have lived in this road for 30 years. I know all the neighbours. I spend every day in my studio in the garden. It’s very isolated, but I like it.

I started painting in my 20s, just after I had my first baby. I contracted meningitis and thought I was going to die. When the doctors ask if you want a priest or a rabbi, you think: that’s it, I’ve had it.

When I woke up, I felt I just had to paint. I had been working in a shop and had never had any artistic training. A little enthusiasm, I found, goes a long way.

I’m always surprised when people say they like my work. Sometimes when I’m in my studio I look at it and giggle. I think my art reflects my belief that you have to appreciate the moment. Read more.

 

Leave a Reply

